Battle of the Books


The Battle of the Books Program is a VOLUNTARY reading competition designed to promote the love and appreciation of reading to elementary school fifth- and sixth-grade students.  Teams consist of three students; a team of two students is acceptable, as long as it is understood that another member may not be added to the team after the first competition has begun unless a team member moves away.  Replacements cannot be from another team.  All formation of the teams and accountability for scores rests with the school Librarian. More information to come!

Battle of the Books

Group C 2016-2017
Battle I

Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIHM

Robert O’Brien


Patricia Reilly Giff

Walk Two Moons

Sharon Creech

Bridge to Terabithia

Katherine Paterson


Battle II

Esperanza Rising

Pam Munoz Ryan

Earthquake Terror

Peg Kehret

Danger in the Desert

Terri Fields

Escape From Mr. Lemoncello’s Library

Chris Grabenstein

Battle III

The Cay

Theodore Taylor

Sadako and the Thousand

Paper Cranes

Eleanor Coerr

Joey Pigza Swallowed the Key

Jack Gantos


Brandon Mull